Libyan Speech

Posted on March 29, 2011

0


I’m lucky this morning.  After an afternoon of deciding whether or not I should start a blog on one of my passions, the news, and actually doing it; I wake up refreshed from an evening of probably the biggest news for the United States of America since President Barack Obama was voted into the Oval Office.  I think that a huge amount of American’s actually stopped for 27 minutes, turned on the tv and actually listened to the President.  I know from about 6pm until the start of the speech I was anxious, kept reminding myself that this was a speech I had to listen to.  Were we bringing ground troops into our efforts of helping Libya gain freedom from a horrible tyrant like Qaddafi?  I was quite fearful as he opened with talking about how much we appreciate all of what our military does for us; I’m sitting there thinking as he’s listing off the many disgusting actions this dictator (for lack of a better word) has performed on his own people, “Crud oh mighty, we are going to declare war against this ass!”  But then he says this with strong conviction:

Our most effective alliance, NATO, has taken command of the enforcement of the arms embargo and the no-fly zone.  Last night, NATO decided to take on the additional responsibility of protecting Libyan civilians.  This transfer from the United States to NATO will take place on Wednesday.  Going forward, the lead in enforcing the no-fly zone and protecting civilians on the ground will transition to our allies and partners, and I am fully confident that our coalition will keep the pressure on Qaddafi’s remaining forces. 

In that effort, the United States will play a supporting role — including intelligence, logistical support, search and rescue assistance, and capabilities to jam regime communications. Because of this transition to a broader, NATO-based coalition, the risk and cost of this operation — to our military and to American taxpayers — will be reduced significantly.

via The Official White House Website

I finally exhaled and the weight of the unknown released from chest.  We, the United States of America, were not declaring war on this weapon of mass destruction.  Instead we were taking on more of a back seat to this “humanitarian effort”.  Now while being a citizen of the USA and one that is extremely opinionated, I don’t know if this is the right way to go for the world but I do believe it is the right way to go for our country.  There is no way in hell we could afford a full fledged war right now and this country being divided as much as it is right now, would cripple us that much more.  I think, no, I KNOW he has made the right decision.  Is it disgusting of me to think about our financial and divided states that we are in while a tyrant like Qaddafi sits in his bunker, smoking opium, eating food while he orders his forces to open fire on women, children, and citizens that just want freedom?  Probably.  Am I ashamed of it?  Absolutely not.  We normally take the lead on anything protection related in the world and I believe there are other nations that are as strong, as full, as equipped, and may I mention financially stable as we are to take this lead.

Mr. President,
Thank you for not declaring war. The people of the USA are breathing easier this morning. The people of Libya are still being supported by one of  the greatest super-power in the world. The world thanks you for what you have done over the past 6 weeks.
Respectfully,
Bats

